Skip to main content

The Edinburgh Award 2019

13 May 2019

Established in 2007, the Edinburgh Award is a way for the Capital’s citizens to pay a lasting tribute to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the city.

Recent recipients include philanthropists Sir Tom Farmer and Tom Gilzean and University of Edinburgh Professor Timothy O'Shea - each of whom has a cast of their handprints imprinted in flagstones in front of the Council City Chambers. 

Last year’s recipient - larger-than-life rugby legend Doddie Weir - followed in the footsteps of fellow sportsmen Ken Buchanan, Sir Chris Hoy and George Kerr to be honoured with the Edinburgh Award for his achievements as a rugby player and as an ambassador for MND Research.

Communities, businesses and individuals across Edinburgh were invited to cast nominations for the 2019 award, before a recipient is selected by a panel chaired by the Lord Provost.

Nominations are now closed. The 2019 recipient of the Edinburgh Award will be announced in due course.