Skip to main content


The city is divided in to four geographical areas – North West, North East, South West and South East.  These four operational management areas are common to the Council and its key partners i.e. Police Scotland, NHS Lothian, Fire and Rescue Service, Edinburgh College and the Third Sector. Each area has its own priorities and delivers improved services for communities.

Locality Committees have powers over community safety, lifelong learning and libraries, traffic management, roads and parking, parks and green space, street cleaning and open space maintenance and public realm projects on a local basis.

You can find more information about the Localities on the Council website

South East Locality Office
North East Locality Office 
North West Locality Office
South West Locality Office